Honor Committee

The members of the Honor Committee serve as role models, promoting the moral and ethical values established by the school’s founder, Bishop Jett.

Every spring the students of Virginia Episcopal School gather in the chapel to select the members of the next year’s Honor Committee. It is the only group of student leaders serving the school selected entirely by the student body and appointed by the Headmaster.

"Our ability to trust each other is quite simply the glue which holds us together as a community. Without it, we are a gathering of individuals but not a family."
Phil Garmey
Associate Headmaster

Students wishing to serve on the committee must submit written applications which are read by the student body. The elected members go through a rigorous training period with past and current members of the Honor Committee who share their experiences of serving on the committee. The new members also have the opportunity to observe numerous mock trials and conduct practice trials themselves. At the start of each school year the Honor Committee holds a special service for all students and faculty to sign an honor pledge, reminding the community of its high ideal of honesty and integrity. The Honor Committee is also responsible for conducting Honor and Integrity Week at VES which brings speakers to campus to discuss the subject of honor. This committee represents one of the top leadership roles in the school.

2015-16 Honor Committee

  • George Battle (Charleston, WV)
  • Lelia Battle (Lynchburg, VA)
  • Riley Head (Lynchburg, VA)
  • Caroline Miller (Lynchburg, VA)
  • Gracie Thompson (Winston-Salem, NC) **Honor Committee Chair
  • Ben Tucker (Birmingham, AL)
  • Preston Williams (Lynchburg, VA)
Contact Honor Committee

Bob Leake
Faculty Advisor
Phone: 434-385-3882

Honor. Rigor. Community. Relationships. Individual Attention.

© Copyright 2010-13. Virginia Episcopal School
400 VES Road, Lynchburg, VA 24503 | 434-385-3600